Log in

Mental Health Information Centre - Southern Africa

SU/UCT MRC Unit on Risk and Resilience in Mental Disorders

The extramural Research Unit on Anxiety and Stress Disorders was established by the MRC in 1997. The Unit has worked towards obtaining status as a cross-University Centre, with key unit researchers now located at the University of Stellenbosch, as well as the University of Cape Town (UCT), and at Northwest University. Prof Dan J. Stein, chair of the Department of Psychiatry and Mental Health at UCT, is director of the Unit. Priority has been given to establishing a unit focusing on anxiety disorders, including PTSD, fostering a multi-disciplinary biopsychosocial approach to the anxiety disorders, promoting increased awareness of the anxiety disorders in the community, and finally, ensuring capacity building of clinical and research skills in students and staff. In 2017 the name of the unit was changed to the SU/UCT MRC Unit on Risk and Resilience in Mental Disorders.

Students, post-doctoral fellows and any others should contact the Unit if interested in our work: tel nr: 021 938 9229; Prof Dan J. Stein: Dan.Stein@uct.ac.za; Prof Christine Lochner: cl2@sun.ac.za

Mental Health Topics

In partnership with:

University of Stellenbosch
South African Medical Research Council
University of Cape Town